Get Out Of A Rut

30 Jan

Sorry I haven’t posts anything lately. Since starting my internship I have super busy and tired! It has been tough juggling the internship, school, homework, and work as well as trying to fit in time to prepare healthy meals and entertain Molly. 

I am really REALLY enjoying my internship by the way. If anyone was wondering. Winking smile


The past few times I’ve made it to the gym I have been getting bored with running. I still enjoy it but I haven’t been getting that runners high that I would get after about 20 minutes of running. SO, after reading a really helpful book

I referred back to a section in the book that gave suggestions on how to get out of a running rut. They gave a few great suggestions, but I chose to incorporate hills into my run. The book stated that hills make you work harder to overcome the angle of the incline which makes your cardio kick into high gear.

It actually worked! During my first hill (which happened about 7 minutes into my run) I felt that feeling again I smiled. That feeling really made me want to keep running so I could feel it again, and again, and again. We don’t have natural hills down here on the coast so I had to take to the treadmill and I just used the preset hill selection on the treadmill. It was just what I needed. 

I would highly recommend this book for anyone who is a runner and is trying to lose weight. Not only, is it a nice and easy read but it has some great tips on how to stock up on some cheap (HEALTHY) foods, how to get out of ruts, weight training plans, and a few recipes.

What do you do to get out of a rut?
Leave a Reply

