Be Versatile

2 Feb

One of the best things I’ve learned to do is to be versatile. Especially in this busy time in my life being versatile makes things a little easier.  Not only does it save money (which is a bonus), but it also saves time! You don’t have to put much thought into your next meal or outfit.

Since starting my internship I had to purchase some grown up clothes (thank you Grandma and Grandpa for that because I used the cash you sent for Christmas on my clothes). I basically had to start from scratch on work clothes because all I have are jeans and t-shirts and zero fashion sense – none whatsoever!

The following picture is not a picture of my clothes that I purchased, but it gives you an idea on how only a few pieces of clothing can be warn multiple ways giving you a wardrobe for a whole month.

13 Pieces = 31 Days of Clothes

Source

I have also applied this technique to my meals. In doing so, I have noticed that it has helped me to use up all of my ingredients so nothing goes to waist. For example:

1 Bag of Frozen Fruit (.99 cents)

  • top oat meal
  • top cereal
  • top yogurt
  • eat 1 cup for a snack
  • have as a side for any meal

Almonds

  • add to salad/pasta
  • top casseroles
  • throw into cereal/oatmeal
  • top on salad
  • have a hand full for a snack

Canned Black Beans

  • mash for instant dip
  • add to pasta/rice
  • top on salad

Fresh Greens

  • salad
  • sandwich stuffer

Grilled Chicken Breast

  • Chicken sandwich
  • top on  salad
  • main dish for dinner and use ^^bell pepper as a side

You get the idea.

It makes life a little easier when you realize0 there are endless ways to make meals/outfits with only a few staple items. I hope you take this knowledge and run with it because I recently learned  how to be creative with a few items and it has done me wonders.

 HAPPY MIX AND MATCHING!!

I would also like to add that in the month of January I ran 33 Miles total which brings me 3 miles over my goal of 30 miles in January!

Leave a Reply

