Frittata & Cycling

6 Feb

I’ve officially gotten tired of cereal and bananas for breakfast! So I made two delicious breakfast meals for the work week.

1. Bell Pepper and Goat Cheese Frittata — I swear, goat cheese is something I have never thought I would like!

2. Skinny Chocolate Chip Buttermilk Scones TOMORROW!

 

IMG_1418IMG_1419IMG_1422

Bell Pepper and Goat Cheese Frittata
Ingredients
  • 2 cups liquid egg substitute (like Egg Beaters)
  • 1/2 cup crumbled goat cheese
  • 1 cup red bell pepper, sliced
  • 1 bunch scallions, trimmed and sliced
  • 2 tbsp fresh basil, finely chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp freshly black pepper
Instructions
  1. Position rack in upper third of oven; preheat broiler.
  2. In a medium sized bowl whisk together the egg substitute, garlic, basil, salt and pepper.
  3. Spray a large, ovenproof, nonstick skillet with nonfat cooking spray and set over medium heat.
  4. Add in bell pepper and green onions and cook, stirring constantly, until the green onions are just wilted, 30 seconds to 1 minute.
  5. Pour the egg mixture over the vegetables and cook, lifting the edges of the frittata to allow the uncooked egg to flow underneath, until the bottom is light golden, 2 to 3 minutes.
  6. Dot the top of the frittata with cheese, transfer the pan to the oven and broil until puffy and lightly golden on top, 2 to 3 minutes.
  7. Let rest for about 3 minutes before serving.

Preparation time: 5 minute(s) Cooking time: 15 minute(s) Diet type: Vegetarian Diet tags: Low calorie, Reduced fat, Reduced carbohydrate, High protein Number of servings (yield): 4 Culinary tradition: Italian Entire recipe makes 4 servings
Serving size is ¼ of frittata
Each serving = 3 Points +

PER SERVING: 124 calories; 5g fat; 3g carbohydrates; 16g protein; 2 g fiber

Read more: http://www.laaloosh.com/2012/01/03/bell-pepper-and-goat-cheese-frittata-recipe/#ixzz1leo8Dvj3

 

Tonight I had to spice up my workout. Being that it is Monday ( Crying face) I had to make a deal with myself to go to the gym. I was needing a good run after sitting on my rear all day behind a desk but once I got out of my internship I just had like 30% energy. So what did I do???…. I went to a cycling class! stationary bike

Actually it was a cycle and sculpt class! 30 Minutes of butt kicking cycling and 30 minutes of legs, butt, and abs sculpting. It was a really refreshing exercise and it was fun switching up the cardio. Needless to say I had a sweaty shirt after the class.

My advice for anyone that is in a workout plateau is to switch up your routine. Add resistance, increase the incline, try a group class! 

Leave a Reply

